By William Wolf


Former Chairman and CEO of Time Warner Dick Parsons and restaurateur and executive Chef Alexander Smalls will be honored on Tuesday, March 3rd, 2015 at Chelsea Piers’ Pier Sixty at the annual benefit for Careers through Culinary Arts Program (C-CAP), which is celebrating its 25th anniversary of transforming lives through the culinary arts.

Parsons and Smalls are partners in the Harlem restaurants Minton's and The Cecil, which was recently named Best New Restaurant in America by Esquire Magazine. Funds raised will support C-CAP’s programs providing scholarships, education and career opportunities in the culinary arts to disadvantaged youth. Parsons is the Senior Advisor of Providence Equity and Chairman of the boards of the Apollo Theater and the Jazz Foundation of America. The Cecil and Minton’s were inspired by Smalls's travel and study of the African diaspora, resulting in a global adventure in tastes and flavors as diverse as the Harlem community in which they reside.

Those who have attended past C-CAP benefits know the pleasures of moving from table to table, sampling cuisine of New York’s outstanding chefs. This year’s lineup consists of 43 leading chefs, including Daniel Boulud of Daniel, Bryce Shuman of Betony, Michael White of Marea and Dan Barber of Blue Hill, as well as C-CAP alumni Cesar Gutierrez of Lexington Brass and Veronica Rivera of Restaurant Marc Forgione. Cooking alongside the chefs will be more than 60 New York City C-CAP high school students and alumni.

As this year’s honorees, Parsons and Smalls will receive the C-CAP Honors Award. Past recipients include: Daniel Boulud, Marcus Samuelsson, Lidia Bastianich, Thomas Keller, Charlie Palmer, Danny Meyer and Michael Romano, Alfred Portale, Jacques Pepin, Michael White, Tony May, Michael McCarty, Michael Lomonaco, Drew Nieporent, Egidian and Sirio Maccioni, Nina and Tim Zagat, and Saul Zabar and Stanley Zabar.

The co-chairs for this year's event are Vincent Mai, Chairman and CEO of Cranemere, LLC and Alberto Cribiore, Vice Chairman of Citigroup. The Vice Chairs are Mark Weiss and Susan and Richard Grausman, and the Chef Chair will be Marcus Samuelsson. CBS2 NY News anchorman Maurice DuBois will be the Master of Ceremonies. The festivities will include a silent auction and a live auction run by Jamie Ritchie, CEO and President of Sotheby’s Wine.

“We are thrilled to honor Dick and Alexander for their remarkable achievements and contributions to the culinary industry and their commitment to culinary innovation,” says Richard Grausman, C-CAP’s Founder and Chairman. “I never dreamed that my idea in 1990 to teach French cooking in twelve New York City public schools would become what it is today. We now have thousands of C-CAP alumni across the globe demonstrating the true potential in all of us and impacting the lives of a whole new generation of chefs. I’m so proud of each and every one of our students -- they continue to impress me every day.”

C-CAP President Susan Robbins observes: “C-CAP is celebrating 25 years of transforming lives through the culinary arts and this benefit is critical in supporting our mission of providing scholarships, education and career opportunities to at-risk youth interested in pursuing careers in the restaurant and foodservice industry. This milestone anniversary is marked by C-CAP’s dedication and commitment to helping thousands of qualified students across the country, from culinary education in high schools to career placement assistance upon graduation. We are so proud to note that we have awarded over $43 million in scholarships and will continue to nurture the next generation of star chefs.”

The C-CAP Benefit is open to the public. Tickets for general admission are $550 (limited availability); Tickets for VIP admission are $700 and $1,000. Tickets can be purchased at For more event and sponsorship information: 212-974-7111 or visit

The list of participating chefs is as follows:

Philip DeMaiolo, Abigail Kirsch

Jason Weiner, Almond

Christian Pratsch, Asiate

Jonathan Waxman, Barbuto

Markus Glocker, Bâtard

Philippe Bertineau, Benoit

Bryce Shuman, Betony

Dan Barber, Blue Hill New York

Thiago Silva, Catch

Alexander Smalls and JJ Johnson, The Cecil

Sean Quinn, Chadwick’s

Brandon Kida Clement, at the Peninsula

Daniel Boulud, Daniel

Rich Torrisi, Dirty French

Ivy Stark, Dos Caminos

John Fraser, Dovetail

Joseph Fortunato, Extra Virgin

Fortunato Nicotra, Felidia

Chris Leahy, Florian Café

Pastry Chef Veronica River, Restaurant Marc Forgione

Shaun Hergatt, Juni

Kelvin Fernandez, La Marina

Sirio Maccioni and Raphael Francois, Le Cirque

Cesar Gutierrez, Lexington Brass

Maria Loi, Loi

Nick Anderer, Maialino

Michael White, Marea

Richard Sandoval, Maya

Kyle Knalls, Maysville

Kyung Up Lim, Michael’s

Pastry Chef Mame Sow, Minton’s

Matt Hoyle, Nobu 57

Ben Pollinger, Oceana

Michael Lomonaco, Porter House New York

Marcus Samuelsson, Red Rooster

Pastry Chef Sarabeth Levine, Sarabeth’s

Matteo Bergamini, SD26

Yuhi Fujinaga, Sea Grill

Michael Tong, Shun Lee

Dale Talde, Talde

William Telepan, Telepan

Pastry Chef Sunchar Raymond, Union Square Café

Mike Poiarkoff, Vinegar Hill House .


[Film] [Theater] [Cabaret] [About Town] [Wolf]
[Special Reports] [Travel] [HOME]