By William Wolf


It’s that time of year again when the Careers Through Culinary Arts Program (C-CAP) holds its colorful benefit at which patrons can taste dishes prepared by chefs of New York’s leading restaurants and salute a distinguished honoree. The chef being honored at the event on Tuesday, March 4, 2014, at Chelsea Piers’ Pier Sixty, is Michael White, who, partnered with Ahmass Fakahany in the Altamarea Group, operates a chain of restaurants from New York to Washington, D.C. to Hong Kong, including restaurants in London and New Jersey.

White has became a much-lauded expert on Italian cuisine and a leading restaurateur. In New York he has been a force in such restaurants as Fiamma Osteria, Marea, Nicoletta, Al Fiori and Osteria Morini. Honoree White has a new cookbook, “Classico e Moderno.”

Mr. Fakahany is Chair of the benefit, and Chef Chair will be noted restaurateur Marcus Samuelsson. Vice Chairs are Tony May and Marisa May and Susan and Richard Grausman, the latter the founder of C-CAP.

"The annual benefit is critical in supporting C-CAP’s mission of providing scholarships, education and career opportunities to at-risk youth who are interested in pursuing careers in the restaurant and food service industry,” asserts Susan Robbins, President of C-CAP. “For more than 20 years we have been transforming lives for thousands of qualified students across the country, from culinary education in high schools to career placement assistance upon graduation. We continue to manage the largest independent culinary scholarship program in the nation, and to date we have awarded over $40 million.”

C-CAP operates programs in seven locations: New York, Los Angeles, Chicago, Philadelphia, Hampton Roads, VA, District of Columbia/Prince George County, MD, and statewide in Arizona.

Past recipients of the C-CAP Honors Award include: Tony May, Michael McCarty, Michael Lomonaco, Marcus Samuelsson, Drew Nieporent, Alfred Portale, Lidia Bastianich, Thomas Keller, Charlie Palmer, Danny Meyer and Michael Romano, Daniel Boulud, Jacques Pepin, Egidiana and Sirio Maccioni, Nina and Tim Zagat, and Saul Zabar and Stanley Zabar.

The C-CAP benefit is open to the public. Tickets for general admission are $550 (limited availability).Tickets for VIP admission are $700 and $1,000. (For tickets, more information about the event, and sponsorship opportunities, call 212-974-7111 or visit

The following chefs are scheduled to participate in providing food for the event, with C-CAP students assisting.

Chef Philip DeMaiolo Abigail Kirsch

Chef Jason Weiner Almond

Chef Marc Forgione American Cut

Chef Toni Robertson Asiate at Mandarin Oriental

Chef Philippe Bertineau Benoit

Chef Bryce Shuman Betony

Chef Kelvin Fernandez* Blend on the Water

Chef Dan Barber Blue Hill New York & Blue Hill at Stone Barns

Chef Alexander Smalls The Cecil & Minton’s

Chef Sean Quinn* Chadwick’s

Chef Brandon Kida Clement

Chef Harold Moore Commerce

Chefs Daniel Boulud & Brian Loiacono db bistro moderne

Chef Ivy Stark Dos Caminos

Chef John Fraser Dovetail

Chef Joseph Fortunato Extra Virgin

Chef Fortunato Nicotra Felidia

Pastry Chef Thiago Silva* The General

Pastry Chef Ron Paprocki Gotham Bar and Grill

Chef Shaun Hergatt Juni

Chef Marc Murphy Kingside

Chef Chris Leahy Lexington Brass

Chef Maria Loi Loi

Chef Michael White Marea

Chef Richard Sandoval Maya and Pampano

Chef Kyle Knall Maysville

Chef Kyung Up Lim Michael's

Chef Matthew Hoyle Nobu 57

Chef Ben Pollinger Oceana

Chef Michael Lomonaco Porter House New York

Chef Marcus Samuelsson Red Rooster Harlem

Chef Jeremy Bearman Rouge Tomate

Pastry Chef Sarabeth Levine Sarabeth's

Chef Matteo Bergamini SD26

Chef Yuhi Fujinaga The Sea Grill

Chef Michael Tong Shun Lee Palace

Chef William Telepan Telepan

Chef Dale Talde Talde

Pastry Chef Sunchar Raymond Union Square Café

* C-CAP Graduate


[Film] [Theater] [Cabaret] [About Town] [Wolf]
[Special Reports] [Travel] [HOME]