One of the pleasures of having attended the Nightlife Awards has been the absence of typical speeches in which people thank everyone in their family and also practically down to the doctor that delivered them as babies. Instead, at these awards, as produced at The Town Hall by creator/producer Scott Siegel, the recipients have shown their talent by performing as their personal thank you format with no speeches. The same will be true this time around, Monday, January 30, 7 p.m., again at The Town Hall, marking the long-time track record.

This year the announced co-hosts are Lucie Arnaz and Bill Irwin, a formidable combination. In addition, the landmark night will be celebrated with appearances by many who have won in the past. Plaudits are deserved for Siegel, who is justifiably proud of his achievement. To quote him:

“Having Lucie Arnaz and Bill Irwin co-host the 10th Annual Awards makes, I think, a powerful comment on the prestige and importance of the show. The respect and admiration that the entertainment community has for these two supremely talented people goes without saying.”

Siegel, his public relations savvy intact, ventured, “I don’t know who is going to have a better time, the performers on stage or the audience.”

When you consider some of those who have participated in the past, the pedigree of the show is a strong one. Those who have been faithful audience members would have been treated to seeing such notables as Alan King, Robert Klein, Elaine Stritch, Brian Stokes Mitchell, Kristin Chenoweth, Donna Murphy, Raúl Esparza, Keely Smith, Eartha Kitt, Paula West, Bill Charlap, Betty Buckley, Karen Akers, Bruce Vilanch, Andrea Marcovicci, Steven Schwartz, Patti LuPone, Liza Minnelli—need we cite more?

A favorite outrageous moment of mine was when Vilanch told the dirtiest dentist joke I’ve ever heard. No, I won’t repeat it here. You’ll have to see me personally.

The Nightlife Awards is sponsored, in part, by ASCAP, The Edythe Kenner Foundation, Jill & Irwin Cohen,, Eda & Stephen Sorokoff, Max Weintraub, Thoroughbred Records, The Berkshire Theatre Group, Sylvia Atkins, Steven Ernst, and Stuart E. Bloom & Robert L. Aaron: Lightstyles, LLC.

Siegel points out that prices for the Nightlife Awards are the same as they were ten years ago: $75 for orchestra and loge seats, $50 for front balcony, and $25 for rear balcony. Tickets , he announces, can be obtained three ways:

1) Mail Order: Checks made out to Siegel & Siegel Ltd and mailed to Scott Siegel c/o Nightlife Awards, 320 East 58th Street, #5B, NY, NY 10022 (indicate number of seats, requested location, and include your return address, phone number, and email address. (This is a separate pool of tickets that neither Ticketmaster nor the Town Hall Box Office has.)


3) Call the Town Hall Box Office: 212-840-2824, or go to the Town Hall Box Office from noon to 6 PM every day except Sunday -- 123 W. 43rd Street, NY, NY 10036.

Return to Previous Page